Welcome to the web space of Atmosphere-Related Research in Canadian Universities (ARRCU). ARRCU was an ad-hoc working group until June 2017, when it became established as a Special Interest Group of the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society.

We are a group of Canadian university faculty who undertake research in weather, climate, and air quality under the general framework of atmosphere-related research (ARR). ARR considers the whole atmosphere, from the surface to space, and its interaction with land-surface, hydrologic, ocean, cryospheric, and space systems. Work in this area connects atmospheric and related sciences to many other areas of environmental and social science.

Following preparatory workshops in August 2014 and May 2015 (see CMOS Bulletin August 2015, 43(4)), the ARRCU working group has initiated a strategic planning process in Canadian ARR across the university, government, and industrial sectors. The ARRCU-SIG is engaged in strategic planning and up to now, this led to the ARRCU white paper, that presents the motivation for the creation of the ARRCU initiative (see ARRCU white paper). There has also been a focus paper describing the status of the collaboration between the ARRCU community and government (see document) and recently, a white paper on the collaboration with industry (see document). Another is in preparation addressing ARRCU and education.

The ARRCU SIG Executive Committee

  • Prof. Paul Kushner (Chair), paul.kushner@utoronto.ca

  • Prof. Adam Monahan (Vice-Chair), monahana@uvic.ca

  • Prof. Pierre Gauthier (Secretary/Treasurer), gauthier.pierre@uqam.ca

The ARRCU-SIG advisory board

  • Prof. Hind Al-Abadleh, halabadleh@wlu.ca

  • Prof. John Gyakum, john.gyakum@mcgill.ca

  • Prof. Randall Martin, randall.vaughn.martin@gmail.com

  • Prof. Paul Myers, pmyers@ualberta.ca

  • Prof. Rebecca Saari, rebecca.saari@uwaterloo.ca

  • Prof. Kimberly Strong, strong@atmosp.physics.utoronto.ca

  • Prof. Roland Stull, rstull@eos.ubc.ca

  • Prof. Peter Taylor, pat@yorku.ca

  • Dr. Sylvie Roy, Sylvie.Roy@NSERC-CRSNG.GC.CA